beautykillo.blogg.se

Mac mini late 2014 upgrade error
Mac mini late 2014 upgrade error







mac mini late 2014 upgrade error

I've never had a machine fail years into use, so hardware failure was pretty much at the bottom of the list in terms of things I considered checking.

mac mini late 2014 upgrade error

I have had one or two hardware problems, but they've always manifested right after purchase. Except my applications were still acting wonky.Īt that point, I started to wonder if I had a rare Mac hardware problem. Special.Įven so, I did run the First Aid operation on my SSD. Gack! That's right, El Cap removed the disk permissions repair option because it interferes with system protection. My first go-to troubleshooting action is usually to repair disk permissions, since that's long been an easy way to fix minor problems. To diagnose the problem, I ran Disk Utility. This error wasn't as reliable, because it stopped once I rebooted. Or, more precisely, it launched, then immediately exited back to the desktop. There appeared to be an error generated in the main UI code for the Mac, but not for that application.Ī few days later, another application suddenly wouldn't launch. I contacted the developer, and we went over the crash logs. Now, I had verified that the behavior was repeatable on multiple versions of the same program. It (and only it) crashed when touching the menu bar. However, once the crashing started to occur, I downloaded a trial version of the upgrade. Since it had been meeting my needs, and running perfectly, I had chosen not to buy the upgrade. The developer had upgraded the program, but hadn't offered any kind of upgrade discount. But I checked, and it was actually the same version of the program that I had been running for the past year.

#MAC MINI LATE 2014 UPGRADE ERROR UPDATE#

My first assumption was that the weird behavior was caused by an update to that program. But every time I touched the menu bar, it crashed. It would launch and properly display the splash screen. But now I can't recommend it anymore.Īfter a few weeks, I noticed that a development tool I run regularly wasn't behaving itself. It was the perfect combination of compactness, just enough processor power and upgradeability that made it an excellent value for many Mac users.









Mac mini late 2014 upgrade error